Tyson Foods shareholders elect board members

07-02-2011 | |

Shareholders of Tyson Foods, Inc. elected seven people to the company’s board of directors, including five independent directors.

 The vote was announced at Tyson’s annual meeting of shareholders in Springdale, Arkansas.
Those elected were:
  • Chairman John Tyson
  • Jim Kever
  • Kevin M. McNamara
  • Robert Thurber
  • Brad T. Sauer
  • Barbara A. Tyson
  • Albert C. Zapanta. 
The board position held by Don Tyson, who passed away January 6, has not been filled. 
In other business, shareholders approved, on an advisory basis, the overall compensation of the company’s named executive officers and chose to hold an advisory vote every three years regarding executive compensation. Shareholders ratified the selection of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as the company’s independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending October 1, 2011. 
They also voted to reject a shareholder proposal regarding poultry slaughter methods.
Source: Tyson Foods