Health

News

Pig Progress webinar zooming in on health issues

Antibiotics, gut health, swine fevers and biosecurity – a lot of very timely issues these days have strong links to the theme of ‘pig health’. For Pig Progress this was reason enough to organise a webinar about this theme on Monday, May 7.

Exactly how strongly the themes of antibiotic reduction as well as gut health are raising interest around the globe can be seen in the large number of publications and conferences dedicated to this theme. Last year, Proagrica, publisher of Pig Progress published a 100-page thick special filled with the why and how of antibiotics, reduction and what can be done to reduce it.

Ways to reduce antibiotics usage

Featuring in the Pig Health webinar will be Dr Arie van Nes, associate professor at the Department of Farm Animal Health, Utrecht University, the Netherlands. He is specialised in swine herd health and epidemiology.

 

In the interactive webinar, Dr Van Nes will be sharing his view on antibiotic reduction by discussing various strategies that farms can follow in order to keep out pathogens.

Improving pig liveability

Also speaking is Rafael Durán, regional technical manager at DuPont. He joined the company, then called Finnfeeds, 17 years ago. Mr Durán graduated as a veterinarian specialised in animal production, from University Complutense of 

His presentation will be revolving around ‘Improving liveability’. Optimising dietary protein intake in swine has long been recognised as a challenging balancing act, where failure risks a potential decline in performance, health and behaviour. His presentation will provide insights from a novel scientific approach focused on helping producers make strategic feed decisions to increase liveability rates in grower-finisher pigs while also improving growth rates.

African Swine Fever – is it coming?

Thirdly, it is time for Western Europe to look east as there is a major health challenge looming: African Swine Fever is still spreading in wild boar populations and has now already affected 7 countries in the European Union alone.

 

What does it constitute? How does it spread, is it dangerous for swine producers and what can be done to prepare against it? Dr Willie Loeffen of Wageningen Bioveterinary Research, and one of the leading experts on African Swine Fever in the Netherlands, will share his views.

When, where and how?

The webinar is entirely free – all you need to do is register. It will be broadcast live from Amsterdam on Monday, May 7 at 2pm, Central European Time. This is a convenient time for virtually all over the world – it corresponds to:

  • Chicago, IL, United States: 7am
  • New York, NY, United States: 8am
  • São Paulo, Brazil: 9am
  • London, UK: 1pm
  • Moscow, Russia: 3pm
  • Bangkok, Thailand: 7pm
  • Beijing, China: 8pm
  • Tokyo, Japan: 9pm

Will you miss the webinar? No worries, in that case an on-demand link will become available so you can watch it any time you like.

Or register to be able to comment.