New National Pork Board appointees announced

21-05-2012 | |

Five new appointments to the 15-member National Pork Board have been announced by Agricultural Secretary Tom Vilsack. The appointees will each serve a three-year term.

The new appointees chosen to represent pork producers are Craig Mensink, Preston, Minn., and Carl Link, Fort Recovery, Ohio. The reappointed members of the board consist of: Brad Greenway, Mitchell, S.D.; Dale Norton, Bronson, Mich.; and Lisa Colby, Newburyport, Mass.
The National Pork Producers Delegate Body nominated eight pork producers during its March meeting in Denver from which the five appointees were selected.
“I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to provide their time and expertise,”  Secretary Vilsack said. “I am confident that pork producers and importers will be well served by them.”
The newly appointed and reappointed board members join current members:
  • Everett Forkner of Richards, Mo. – president
  • Conley Nelson of Algona, Iowa  – vice president
  • Karen Richter of Montgomery, Minn. – treasurer
  • Roy Henry of Longford, Kan.
  • Julie Maschhoff of Carlyle, Ill.
  • Wathina Luthi of Gage, Okla.
  • Derrick Sleezer of Cherokee, Iowa
  • Steve Wuergler of Drain, Ore.
  • Henry Moore of Clinton, N.C.
  • Glen Walters of Barnesville, Ga.
According to USDA statistics, there were 69,100 pork operations in 2010, with about 64 million head of pigs at the beginning of 2011. Iowa, North Carolina, Minnesota, Illinois and Indiana are the top five pork-producing states.
Source: Pork Checkoff

More about