Merc awards pork industry scholarships

14-03-2011 | |

The Chicago Mercantile Exchange at the annual business meeting of the National Pork Producers Council – the National Pork Industry Forum – awarded scholarships to four college students who intend to pursue careers in the pork industry.

NPPC administers the scholarship selection process.
The winners of the $2,500 Lois Britt Memorial Pork Industry Scholarships – named after the late NPPC vice president from Mt. Olive, N.C. – are:
  • Joe Harmeyerfrom Brookville, Ind., a junior at Purdue University.
  • Karl Kerns from Clearfield, Iowa, a sophomore at Iowa State University.
  • Erin Mohlerfrom Columbia, Mo., a senior at the University of Missouri.
  • Emily Staudacherfrom Indianola, Iowa, a junior at Iowa State University.
This is the 21st year of the CME scholarship program, which recognizes outstanding youth in the pork community. To be eligible, students must be undergraduates in a two-year swine program or a four-year college of agriculture, provide a brief letter describing their expected role in the pork industry, write an essay on an issue affecting the pork industry and submit two letters of reference from professors or industry professionals.
“These young people represent the future of the U.S. pork industry,” said outgoing NPPC President Sam Carney, a pork producer from Adair, Iowa. “They are the next generation of leaders, and NPPC and the Chicago Mercantile Exchange are pleased to recognize their commitment to the pork industry with these scholarships.”

More about