First new members of Animal Health and Welfare Board For England

28-10-2011 | |

The first non-executive members of the new Animal Health and Welfare Board for England were announced by Agriculture Minister Jim Paice.

The new members are Stewart Houston, Stuart Roberts, Mark Tufnell and Tim Morris and they join chair Michael Seals in developing the Government’s strategic Animal Health and Welfare policy.
Welcoming the appointments Mr Paice said: “Farmers, veterinarians and animal keepers have a wealth of experience and knowledge.  We are bringing them to the heart of Government to advise on the policies that affect them, and ensure good animal welfare standards.
“This is the Big Society in action and I am delighted we have four strong members to work with the Chair and bring us their expertise.”
Michael Seals, the Chair of the Board said: “The appointment of these members means that we are now ready to get on with business and I am looking forward to the  first meeting of the Board in early November.”
The  Animal Health and Welfare Board for England brings experts from outside Government together with the Chief Veterinary Officer and civil servants to make direct policy recommendations on strategic policy affecting the health and welfare of kept animals such as farm animals, horses and pets.
The announcement was made by Mr Paice during a visit to the Borderway Agri-Expo in Carlisle.
For more info on the members: DEFRA

More about