Piglets

News

Coming soon: Webinar about piglets

A webinar about ‘piglets’ these days will have to focus on one theme only: how to get piglets through weaning well without the use of zinc oxide or antibiotics. That is exactly what the webinar “Piglets” will do, held tomorrow at 3pm CET.
Coming soon: Webinar about piglets

Register here for webinar on piglets  

For years, the main topic in relation to piglets has been to get them all safely through weaning. In various countries around the world, the options to get piglets through weaning, however, will be limited. Not only antibiotics usage is being discouraged but so is increasingly the use of zinc oxide. That places us back at the question – how to best prepare the little ones for the big transition in life?

In total, 3 expert speakers will address the audience about the topic.

Challenges for piglets around weaning

Prof Dr Jürgen Zentek, DVM, Institute of Animal Nutrition, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany, will address challenges piglets face around weaning and discuss why using zinc oxide is no solution. He will demonstrate that numerous recent studies have shown that gut health is an essential factor in maintaining animal health and also in ensuring optimum performance. Intestinal health is influenced by nutritional factors, including dietary components, macronutrients, micronutrients and also feed additives.

Vincent Bégos, swine nutritionist for the CCPA Group will discuss how to tackle piglet demedication with confidence. He will present the company’s innovations in link with the 3 pillars demedication approach: feed formulation, alternative feed solutions and farm management.

 

Niels Poulsen, CEE swine technical manager at Phileo by Lesaffre, will then delve into a road of weaning with the help of yeast solutions. After all, piglet diets had best not contained a lot of zinc oxide but also not additional antibiotics. He will explain that yeast solutions can boost feed intake, promote a healthy microbiome and reduce pathogens.

Starting time of webinar “Piglets”

The webinar will start at October 28, at 3pm Central European Time. That time corresponds to:

  • Des Moines, IA, United States: 8am
  • Mexico City, Mexico: 8am
  • New York, NY, United States: 9am
  • São Paulo, Brazil: 10am
  • London, UK, United Kingdom: 2pm
  • Moscow, Russia: 4pm
  • Bangkok, Thailand: 8pm
  • Beijing, China: 9pm
  • Tokyo, Japan: 10pm

Register here for webinar on piglets