Home

News

Webinar on sustainability in pig production

Very soon, Pig Progress will hold a webinar on sustainability in swine farming. The event, which is free for everyone, shall be broadcast on Tuesday, September 4 at 2pm Central European Time.

‘Sustainability’ is a buzzword these days. Thousands of online pages and magazines have been written full of it – but what exactly this can mean for swine production depends on the meaning of each individual writer.

Saving resources for future generations

Bottom line is that we, nowadays don’t want to use current resources at the expense of future generations. Rather, that we take care of planet Earth – and in our case with swine production – in a way that impacts the world as little as possible. How to achieve that in the pig business is the topic of the 3 following speakers.

The line-up is:

Angela van der Sanden
Connecting Agri and Food, the Netherlands
Sustainability steered by real-time insights in the pig house
Connecting Agri&Food is an organisation involved with ‘Smart Stable’, a concept around a sensor in farms providing a real-time knowledge of e.g. temperature, water consumption and air pressure. Imagine how much more sustainably a farm can work if all data are used?

Matias Jansen
Kemin, Belgium
Nutrient absorption: The root of sustainable animal production
Nutrient absorption has a direct impact on economic and ecological sustainability – after all, all feed ingredients that are not absorbed, are excreted again. This presentation discusses the role of lysophospholipid-based absorption enhancers for swine.

Kobe Lannoo
Nuscience, Belgium
The difference between installing gut health and maintaining a healthy gut
It is proven that installing an optimal gut health in the early days of an animals life is reflected in the performance of the animals throughout the rest of the production cycle. Now how to enhance gut health?

When, where and how?

The webinar will be broadcast live from Amsterdam, the Netherlands on Tuesday, September 4, at 2pm, Central European Time. This is a convenient time for virtually all over the world – it corresponds to:

  • Chicago, IL, United States: 7am
  • New York, NY, United States: 8am
  • São Paulo, Brazil: 9am
  • London, UK: 1pm
  • Moscow, Russia: 3pm
  • Bangkok, Thailand: 7pm
  • Beijing, China: 8pm
  • Tokyo, Japan: 9pm

The webinar will be hosted by Vincent ter Beek, editor Pig Progress.

For anyone who is unable to follow the webinar, it will be available for streaming at any other date at a later moment.

Or register to be able to comment.