PigProgress - NPPC Elects New Officers, Board Members


NPPC Elects New Officers, Board Members

The National Pork Producers Council today elected new officers and members to its board of directors at its annual business meeting – the National Pork Industry Forum.

Elected as president of the organisation was Dr Howard Hill, a consultant for Iowa Select Farms and a pork producer from Cambridge, Iowa. His pork production business, H&K Enterprises, includes hogs and cattle, and Hill and his son farm 2,600 acres of corn, soybeans and alfalfa.

Dr Ron Prestage was elected as president-elect. A pork producer from Camden, SC, Prestage is part of the family-owned Prestage Farms, which includes hogs, turkeys, cattle and cropland for hay. He's primarily responsible for the sows and turkeys on the farms in South Carolina and a swine operation in Mississippi.

Elected as vice president was John Weber, a pork producer from Dysart, Iowa. In addition to raising hogs for Cargill, he manages with his son Valley Lane Farms Inc., a grain and livestock operation.

New members elected to the board for three-year terms were David Herring, of Lillington, NC; Phil Borgic, of Nokomis, Ill.; and Terry Wolters, of Pipestone, Minn. They join current directors Jim Compart, of Nicollet, Minn.; Jim Heimerl, of Johnstown, Ohio; Ray Summerlin, of Rose Hill, N.C.; Bill Kessler, of Mexico, Mo.; AV Roth, of Wauzeka, Wis.; Ken Maschhoff, of Carlyle, Ill.; and Chris Hodges, of Kansas City, Mo.

Elected for a two-year term as the allied industry representative was Kent Bang, with AgStar Financial. Re-elected for two-year terms to the NPPC Nominating Committee were Dave Moody, of Iowa, and Kraig Westerbeek, of North Carolina.

Pig Progress

Or register to be able to comment.