People: Dr Keniry retires as Chairman of Pork CRC

John Keniry has announced his retirement at the recent 2013 annual meeting, Dennis Mutton has succeeded Dr Keniry as Chairman of the CRC for High Integrity Australian Pork (commonly know as Pork CRC).

Dr Keniry's retirement marked the conclusion of eight years as chair of the present Pork CRC and its predecessor, CRC for an Internationally Competitive Pork Industry.

Pork CRC Board now comprises Mr Mutton (Chairman), Kathryn Adams, Sandra Di Blasio, Rod Hamann, Professor Simon Maddocks, Professor John Pluske, Kenton Shaw, Andrew Spencer, Chris Trengrove, Professor Robert van Barneveld and Dr Hugh Wirth.

The four research programmes of the CRC for High Integrity Australian Pork are:

  1. Reduced confinement of sows and piglets. Herd health management.
  2. Healthy pork consumption.
  3. Carbon-conscious nutrient inputs and outputs.

Mr Mutton, BSc.(Hons), Grad Dip Mgt, JP, FAICD, is an Adelaide, South Australia  based independent consultant in resource planning and development, administration of R&D, leadership, strategic management and regional development.

He is Chair of BioInnovation SA and was previously Chair of Grape and Wine R&D Corporation, Council of Rural R&D Corporations, Natural Resources Management Council SA and Director of CRC Viticulture.

His distinguished career in the South Australian Public Service includes Chief Executive of Primary Industries and Resources SA, Department of Environment and Natural Resources and the Woods and Forests Department.

Speaking after the AGM, Pork CRC CEO Roger Campbell thanked Dr Keniry, who he described as instrumental in the universally acknowledged success of the first Pork CRC and for the second Pork CRC being awarded.

Pig Progress

Or register to be able to comment.