Slovakia at a glance

Slovakia is a mountainous country located in central Europe, which is bordered by countries such as Poland, Hungary and Austria. Its territory spans roughly 49,000 km2, which is half the size of Kentucky (USA). The country is home to 5 million inhabitants, of which 430,000 live in the capital Bratislava. The second biggest city is Košice.

Slovakia has a close relationship with its neighbouring country, the Czech Republic. In 1919, the state of Czechoslovakia was established, which combined both country’s territories. After World War II, Czechoslovakia was under communist rule as part of the Soviet Union. Slovakia became an independent state in 1993. The country joined the European Union in 2004 and the Eurozone in 2009.