Phileo webinar: Antibiotic reduction in swine in Europe: Challenges and opportunities


The European pig sector has done a great job reducing antibiotics already. But how can we make the next steps and which nutritional strategies are available that enhance pig health even further? In this webinar from Phileo, we take a closer look at some of these aspects as experts share their latest research findings in alternatives to antibiotics and the impact of antibiotic reduction strategies.

Dr Paolo Trevisi
Associate professor University of Bologna

Dr Dominique Marchand
Veterinarian EPIDALIS

Emmy Koeleman
Moderator & editor All About Feed and Dairy Global 

Thu 17 November


Moderator: Emmy Koeleman, editor All About Feed and Dairy Global

  • The interest of using probiotics to reduce the use of antibiotics in pigs

 Speaker: Dr. Paolo Trevisi, Associate Professor – Animal husbandry at Department of Agricultural and Food Science (DISTAL) ‐ University of Bologna

Since 2013, Dr. Paolo Trevisi is Associate Professor – Animal husbandry at Department of Agricultural and Food Science (DISTAL) at the University of Bologna (Italy). He has a Post-Doctorate in Animal Nutrition - alternative to in feed antibiotic (pig) at the Agriculture Faculty, University of Bologna. Its study: feeding and management strategies to increase the natural resistance of pigs to the pathogen infection, with attention on the gastro‐intestinal disorders in piglets around weaning.

  • Impact of antibiotic reduction strategies in swine health management (including field experience)

Speaker: Dominique Marchand DVM – EPIDALIS (France).

Dr. Dominque Marchand, graduated as a Doctor of Veterinary Medicines (Nantes, France), is veterinarian at EPIDALIS. He has wide experience in pig production in Europe.

The webinar will last one and a half hour and will start on November 17, at 15.30 pm Central European Time. This corresponds to e.g. 9.30 am Atlanta, Georgia, 00.30 pm São Paulo, Brazil, 5.30 pm in Moscow, Russia, 9.30 pm in Bangkok, Thailand and 10.30 pm in Beijing, China. For anyone who is unable to follow the webinar, it will be available for streaming at any other date at a later moment. Join our experts, attendance is free.